Type to search

Deshdoot Times DT City News

Zilla Parishad to go to by-polls on Dec 12


NASHIK: After the general and state assembly elections, the state election commission has announced an election program for four vacant seats of Zilla Parishad, Nashik following resignations of ZP members who had fought the elections.

As per schedule, polling for four seats will take place on December 12 and the counting of votes on the next day on Dec 13. The by-elections are scheduled for Govardhan, Manur and Khedgaon groups. District collector Suraj Mandhare will be the Election Decision Officer.

The state election commission on Monday had announced a by-election program to the 15 vacant seats of Zilla Parishad and 13 seats of Panchayat Samiti including three groups from the district — Govardhan (Nashik), Manur (Kalwan) and Khedgaon (Dindori).

The voting will take place on the same day for Nyaydondari gan in Nandgaon taluka and Nandurdi gan in Niphad taluka. NCP’s Bharati Pawar and Shiv Sena’s Dhanraj Mahale had resigned from membership of ZP to fight Lok Sabha election. Pawar was a member of Manur group in Kalwan taluka, while Mahale was from the Khedgaon group.

NCP member from Govardhan group Hiraman Khoskar had resigned to fight Assembly election. Last Monday, final voter list was announced for these vacant seats. Meanwhile, draw of lots for the post of ZP president is to be held today. All eyes will be on a category of reservation meant for the post of ZP president.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!