Type to search

Deshdoot Times DT City News

Godse emerges winner through every passing round extends his lead per round


Nashik: After defeating former deputy chief minister Chhagan Bhujbal by a vote margin of 1.87 lakh votes in 2014 Lok Sabha elections, MP Hemant Godse had proved that he was a giant killer. This time he defeated former MP Sameer Bhujbal by double votes Bhujbal got.

The voters from Nashik city had cast over 4.25 lakh votes to Godse in this remarkable contest in north Maharashtra. This time, Godse got fewer votes from Sinnar. Comparing to 2014, his voting percentage in Deolali constituency was reduced. With this, Shiv Sena has a new challenge in upcoming state assembly elections.

BJP has three state assembly seats, while Shiv Sena has two state assembly seats, out of a total six state assembly constituencies which are falling under Nashik constituency. Congress has its candidates in a single constituency. As the saffron alliance is ruling municipal councils, municipal corporation and other local bodies in the constituency, it was clear that the saffron alliance candidate will be elected here.

The voters from Nashik west, Nashik central, Nashik east and Deolali constituencies have the biggest share in Godse’s victory. Of the total voting in these four constituencies, Godse received 4,36,388 votes. He got 1,44,144 votes from Nashik west out of total 2,17, 59 votes. Godse also received a record break voes from New Nashik-Satpur and Ambad industrial area.

Sameer Bhujbal, on the other hand, got good votes from Igatpuriwhere he polled 63,518 votes. Independent candidate Manikrao Kokate received good votes than Godse in Sinnar, polling 91,114 votes in his home ground.
In addition, Godse got 1,17,127 votes from Nashik east constituency. He received a lead of 76,000 votes over Bhujbal.

Nashik west constituency also caste a record break voting in favour of the saffron alliance. This constituency is ruled by BJP and it has come to light that the saffron alliance has maintained its supremacy here. Godse received additional 41,933 votes than Bhujbal from Deolali constituency.


Nashik: Everyone was expecting that there would be a tough fight in Nashik Lok Sabha constituency, however, this election proved one-sided after each round. Godse who took lead from the first round itself had maintained it till the end of the last round. Office bearers of all political parties were disappointed over the slow pace of vote counting.

The counting of votes began at 8 am at the central warehouse, Ambad in the presence of central observers under the leadership of electoral officer Suraj Mandhare. Total of 84 tables was arranged (14 tables for each state assembly constituency).

Voting officials and employees were present in the vote counting cell at 6 am. Returning officials removed the seal of the strong room where electronic voting machines and VVPATs were kept in the presence of candidates and their representatives at 8 am. Counting of postal ballots was started first.

As postal ballots had barcode this time and Election Commission orders to scan each ballot paper, counting of these ballot papers was started with caution, however, server of the Election Commission was non-functional, the vote counting could not take place.

After a wait for longer, vote counting in electronic voting machines was started. A total of 18 candidates were in the fray at Nashik constituency, the pace of the vote counting was slow. Of 18,82,111 voters, 11,18,520 voters (59%) had cast their votes.

Though every candidate had claimed of victory in this tough contest, the actual fight took place between current MP of Shiv Sena Hemant Godse and former MP of NCP Sameer Bhujbal. Independent candidate Manikrao Kokate and Bahujan Vanchit Aghadi candidate Pavan Pawar had remained on third and fourth positions respectively. Initially, Godse was behind for some time and he maintained the lead at the end then.

“Godse took the lead from the first round itself. He received 25,025 votes in this round, while Bhujbal got 16,420 votes. In comparison, independent candidate remained in the third position. He got 7218 votes in the first round, while Pawar received 2868 votes. Maintaining his lead, Godse led Bhujbal by 22,707 cotes at the end of the second round.

He got 47,712 votes, while Bhujbal received 33,194 votes. Kokate got 13,278 votes, whereas Pawar received 6219 votes. After the second round, Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi’s Pavan Pawar left the centre. Few activists of the party were present then.

As the voting percentage of Godse was increasing at the end of each round, BJP activists were overjoyed. After seeing a difference of 1 lakh votes, many NCP activists were hoping that the picture would be changed, however, it did not happen. Generally, the picture got clear after the end of the 12th round and there was a difference of 1.25 lakh votes between Godse and Bhujbal.

The picture got more clear after the end of the 22nd round. The victory of Godse was a formality then. Barring former MLC Jayant Jadhav, representatives of candidates slowly left the centre.
On the other hand, activists of Shiv Sena and BJP burst into celebrations.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


error: Content is protected !!