Farmers’ stir: Meeting of core committee today


Nashik : The meeting of core committee is taking place today (June 8) at Tupsakhare lawns at 1 pm to decide the next direction of the farmers’ stir. President of Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana MP Raju Shetty, MLA Bachchu Kadu, farmer coordination committee’s Ajit Navale, Namdeo Gavade, Ashok Dhavale, Raju Desale, activists of 200 social and charitable organisations across the state and farmers will be present for this meeting.

After Nashik has become the centre of the statewide farmers’ stir, an important meeting of the core committee is taking place at Nashik. Meanwhile, the stir is entering the eighth day today.

Meanwhile, representatives were seen urging farmers who were bringing their agriculture produce to the market committee to make the stir a success, whereas the deputy district registrar was seeking report about arrival of agriculture produce from the market committee secretary. District administration was urging that farmers should bring their produce to the market committee and police protection would be given to them.

As a result, agriculture produce arrived at some market committees, whereas some farmers showed their readiness to give agriculture produce to traders who were coming to their farms.