Rajendra rules Nashik Rally

Abdul Wahid wins overall honours
Rajendra rules Nashik Rally

NASHIK: R E Rajendra of TVS Racing mesmerised all with his daring run to win the sixth round of the FMSCI National Rally Championship MRF MoGrip Rally of Nashik. He defeated Abdul Wahid, a strong contender for the title, by a huge margin of 32.927. Runner-up Wahid however bagged the overall honours to emerge National Champion.

To win the national title, Abdul Wahid needed a six-point lead over his nearest rival Samuel Jacob. Rajendra, the winner of four rounds, scored 13 points. With the title in sight, Abdul performed hard and became the runner-up to clinch the national title, justifying his selection for the International Dakar Rally.

Rajendra, who could not finish the competition in the third and fourth rounds, had won the first, second, and fifth rounds. However, in the national standings, he was 13 points behind the main contender for the title, Abdul Wahid. In the sixth and final round played in Nashik, Rajendra maintained this year’s tone and won the admiration of the audience.

The competition, sponsored by MRF, TVS APACHE, Nashik Rural Police, Green Heritage Resort, Goda Shraddha Foundation, and Soul Men’s Wear, kickstarted at 8.30 am yesterday at Dharnoli near Kavnai. Against the backdrop of the pandemic, the competition was simply launched without the usual colorful launch. The event was held on the perimeter of Waki Dam.

R Nataraj, who has won the national title eleven times, was expected to try his best to maintain his reputation as he has not won a single title this season. Nataraj could not outperform Abdul Wahid and Rajendra. He was two minutes three seconds slower than the winner Rajendra. However, he finished third in the general category.

For the last few years, Nashik has been hosting the National Motorcycle Rally Championship. Being performed on behalf of events. On this occasion, the opportunity to see the thrilling performances of the best two-wheeler competitors across India is available to the motorsports lovers of Nashik. Even yesterday, on the way to the competition, the youth of Nashik were seen rushing to experience the thrill of the competition with their vehicles. Four competitive rounds of thirteen and a half kilometers were held. The biggest attraction was the 450cc RTR bike.

Nashik biker Shamim emerges runner-up

Karthik N of TVS Racing, who excelled in the scooter category, won. His fastest performance was 42 minutes 50.990 seconds. Representing TVS Racing, Shamim Khan from Nashik bagged the runner-up position with a performance of 43.01.830.

Aishwarya’s consistency

Five contestants participated in the women’s group. Aishwarya Pise, who ride the Apache RTR 200 bike and was the previous champion of TVS Racing won the title. She performed 43.37.709. She beat Tanika Shanbhag by 42 seconds. Diksha Srivastava finished third.

Aditya ‘Star of Maharashtra’

All the Nashikites won in the special group titled ‘Star of Maharashtra’ meant for the contestants from the state. Aditya Thakkar defeated Hero Impulse with a brilliant time of 44.09.366. Ankit Gajjar, who drives a Yamaha RX 135, was the runner-up, while Kaustubh Machche finished third. The prizes were distributed in the presence of MRF’s Madhusudan R, Green Heritage Resort’s Aniket Icham, Zilla Parishad Additional Chief Executive Officer Arjun Gunde, MRF’s District Manager Prashant Nikhar, and COC Amit Waghchaure.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Latest Marathi News, Marathi News Paper, Breaking News In Marathi, Marathi Batmya Live