Daljit Singh to be honoured with Outstanding Engineers Award today


Satpur : The Institution of Engineers, Nashik Local Centre will honour those engineers who have done remarkable work in various sectors with awards today (Oct. 11). The prestigious Outstanding Engineers Award will be given to chief executive officer of HAL Daljit Singh.

Chairman Manish Kothari announced awardees in a media briefing organised in the office of the Institution of Engineers. Honorary secretary Sumit Khivansara, joint secretary Vipul Mehta, Ajit Patil, president of organising committee Satish Parakh, president of award selection committee Deepak Kulkarni, former chairman Narendra Birar and other office bearers were present.

Kothari informed that engineers who have done remarkable work in various fields are honoured with various awards every year on the Engineers Day. The award presentation programme has been organised this year in Hotel Gateway at 5 pm on Wednesday.

International coach of Iscon Gaur Gopal Das and director general of Armaments and Combat Engineering Pravin Mehta will present as chief guests. They will present their thoughts on the concept ‘engineers’ role in developing India’.

Total 14 engineers will be honoured with awards this year. Five lady engineers are among them. Around 100 applications were received for the awards. The awardee selection committee under Siemens company’s Deepak Kulkarni selected the awardees as per rules and norms. In addition, essay competition on ‘engineers’ role in developing country’ was also organised. The first two winners will be awarded by the chief guests, Manish Kothari informed.

Daljit Singh (HAL, Nashik) will be honoured with Outstanding Award. Vishwas Darade (WRD); Dr. S T Gandhe (Sandip Foundation); Ganesh Patil (Mahindra and Mahindra); Yuvraj Bhirud (SNJB college Chandwad) and Unmesh Gaidhani will be awarded with the Achievement Award. Siddharth Ravindran (DRDO Ojhar); Dr. Nilesh Patil (Jalgaon); Taral Katiyar (HAL); Ankush Jajoo (Nashik) and Sagar Sonawane (Bosch Ltd. Satpur) will be honoured with Promising Engineering Award.

Sukhada Raut (Cromption Greaves); Shweta Bhamre (Bosch Ltd. Nashik) and Kavita Jogalekar will be honoured with Lady Engineers Award. Essay competition winners Jayant Wavhal (Bosch Ltd.) and Gayatri Chaturvedi (Matoshri polytechnic) will also be awarded by the chief guests.