Commissioner rejects appeal filed by 14 candidates


Nashik Road: The Commissioner for Cooperatives rejected the appeal filed by 14 candidates whose nominations were found invalid during scrutiny of nominations for election process of Nashik Road Deolali Vyapari cooperative bank.

The concerned candidates will go to High Court against this decision. The returning officers had declared the nominations filed by these 14 candidates as invalid during scrutiny of the nominations. All of them had filed the appeal with the Commissioner for Cooperatives at Pune against this decision. Hearing on this appeal took place on June 2.

Candidates named Nitin Chide, Tanaji Bhor, Bhaiyya Baheti, Gundappa Deokar, Shivaji Bhor, Mayur Karva, Yogesh Gadekar, Arun Malode, Shivaji Phokne, Balkrishna Dandne, Ashok Kochar, Pandurang Gaidhani, Bharati Tajanpure and Meena Adke rushed to the Commissioner for Cooperatives after their nominations were declared invalid. Show cause notice was issued to the returning officers and the candidates. Lawyers from both sides presented their sides.

The Additional Commissioner declared his verdict in favour of the returning officers on Monday. Meanwhile, returning officer Nilkanth Kare had declared the nomination filed by Gundappa Deokar as invalid after he filed two nominations with different names, but the Additional Commissioner held his nomination to be valid.