Chairpersons of four ward committees elected unopposed


Nashik : The candidates of all parties have filed their nominations for the posts of six ward committees of Nashik Municipal Corporation. Four chairpersons of four ward committees were elected unopposed. As two nominations were received for Satpur and Nashik west ward committees, exciting contests are expected there.

The names of new ward committee chairpersons will be declared today (May 19) and tomorrow (May 20). On the last day of filing nominations for the posts of chairpersons, BJP’s Madhuri Bolkar, Shahin Mirza, Suman Satbhai, Priyanka Mane, Priyanka Ghate filed their nominations, whereas Shiv Sena’s Santosh Gaikwad and Sudam Demse also filed their nominations.

The chairpersons of New Nashik, Nashik Road, Panchavati and Nashik east ward committees were elected unopposed. As Shahin Mirza filed her nomination alone from Nashik east ward committee she was elected unopposed. Suman Satbhai was elected unopposed from Nashik Road division, whereas Sudam Demse was elected unopposed from New Nashik and Priyanka Mane was elected unopposed from Panchavati division. Their names will be announced today and tomorrow.

On the other hand BJP’s Madhuri Bolkar filed her nomination for chairperson post of Satpur ward committee and Shiv Sena’s Santosh Gaikwad filed his nomination for the same post, there will be an exciting contest in Satpur ward committee election. Priyanka Ghate filed her nomination from Nashik west division and Congress’ Hemlata Patil filed her nomination from Nashik west division, an exciting battle is on the cards. BJP has given opportunity to women on all committees. BJP has been successful in winning posts unopposed where it has majority.