Type to search

Deshdoot Times DT City News

BJP-Shiv Sena alliance sounds victory bugle on 8 seats in north Maharashtra


Nashik: The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance swiftly etched victory in northern Maharashtra and emerged triumphant on eight Lok Sabha seats of Nashik, Dindori, Raver, Jalgaon, Ahmednagar, Shirdi, Nandurbar and Dhule.
In the Nashik LS seat, the main electoral battle was between sitting Shiv Sena MP Hemant Godse and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) nominee Sameer Bhujbal.

The margin of 2,92,204 votes drove Sena’s Godse to victory against NCP’s Sameer, who is the nephew of former Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal. Going down the memory lane, Godse even defeated NCP strongman Chhagan Bhujbal in 2014 LS polls by a margin of 1.75 lakh votes.

The annals of polls history recorded the consecutive wins of Godse, who after 48 years, became the first candidate to wrest the Nashik LS seat twice, in a successive manner. In Dindori LS seat, BJP’s Dr. Bharati Pawar defeated Congress’ Dhanraj Mahale by a margin of 1,98,779 votes.

Dr. Pawar achieved the feat, as she became the first woman MP from Dindori LS seat, polling in 5,67,470 votes. Being the daughter-in-law of former state minister late A T Pawar, the woman MP contested the 2014 LS polls on NCP’s ticket and back then, was defeated by BJP’s Harishcandra Chavan.

In Nandurbar LS seat, sitting BJP MP Dr. Heena retained the seat in an electoral face-off with Congress’ K C Padvi and emerged victorious by polling in a total of 6,39,136 votes. In Dhule LS seat, BJP Union Minister Dr Subhash Bhamare polled altogether 6,13,533 votes, while Congress’ Kunal Patil managed just 3,84,280 votes.

In Raver LS seat, BJP sitting woman MP Raksha Khadase retained the seat by garnering a total of 6,55,386 votes against Congress’ Dr. Ulhas Patil. In Jalgaon LS seat, BJP fielded the first-time contender Unmesh Patil, who received 7,11,588 votes, whereas NCP’s Gulabrao Deokar managed to get 3,01,268 votes.

In Ahmednagar LS seat, BJP’s Sujay Vikhe Patil polled in 5,73,607 votes and defeated NCP’s Sangram Jagtap by a margin of 2,28,780 votes. In Shirdi LS seat, sitting Shiv Sena MP Sadashiv Lokhande retained the seat by polling 4,86,820 votes against Congress’ Bhausaheb Kamble, who garnered 3,66,625 votes.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


error: Content is protected !!