Type to search

Deshdoot Times DT City News Featured

Altogether 118 candidates lost security deposit



Barring a few, majority of the contesting candidates lost their security deposit in 15 state assembly constituencies in the district where 118 candidates failed to get 16 percent of the valid votes. The BJP retained five assembly seats of Nashik east, Nashik west, Nashik central, Chandwad-Deola and Baglan seats, while the NCP swept the polls in six constituencies. Sena emerged victorious on Malegaon outer and Nandgaon assembly seats and lost battle in constituencies of Sinnar, Yeola, Niphad, Dindori, Igatpuri-Trimbakeshwar, Deolali and Kalwan-Surgana.

As many as 148 candidates in 15 constituencies were in the fray, out of which 118 candidatfes lost their security deposit. Prominent among those who lost their security deposit were CPM leader Dr D L Karad, MNS’s Nitin Bhosale and Sena rebel Vilas Shinde.

The district witnessed big rebillion this time in all the 15 assembly constituencies. Altogether 53 candidates were in fray from recognised national and regional political parties, while 23 candidates were in the battleground from registered parties besides 72 representing Independent category.

Highest number of deposits were got forfeited in Nashik west where 19 candidates were in fray out of which 17 could not polled 16% valid votes. Prominent among those who lost security deposit included Sena rebel Vilas Shinde, CPM candidate Dr D L Karad and MNS’s Dilip Datir.

While filing of nominations Rs 10,000 deposit was required while for reserved seats Rs 5000. Candidates will have to get 16% votes to refund their security depost. The deposit can get forfeited in case the candidate is declared ineligible.

Constituency wise deposit
Nandgaon : 13
Malegaon central : 11
Baglan : 4
Kalwan : 4
Chandwad : 7
Yeola : 6
Niphad : 4
Sinnar : 7
Dindori : 3
Nashik east : 10
Nashik central : 8
Nashik west : 17
Deolali : 10
Igatpuri : 7


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!